263 Head X-Sections
    - Building a High Performance Straight Eight
- Buick Straight Eight Lifter Adjustment
- Straight Eight Intake Manifold X-Sections
- Straight Eight Oil Supply Update

Thread: 320 exhaust help

320 exhaust help

Hey all,
    I was wondering what you all run for exhaust setups for the 320? My manifolds are craked, and i was considering making headers but i have never done something so involved before. i was considering buying a sbc make your own hugger header kit, and going from there. As i only have a mig i would tack it all together and have a pro arc weld it nicely. i was curious if anyone here knows an easier way? anyone sell anything for these? any tricks, like using 2 4 banger headers off another car that is spaced the same? thanks all, i am at a lose so any help is appreciated. -Dangileri

building headers -yes

I built my own headers and intake for my 41 buick special / 248 straight 8 . I used hells gates hot rods for flanges (on ebay $42 ish) ) and intake kit ($180.00) , then speedway motors for a chevy block hugger weld up kit ($54.00) , then one additional straight piece (4") I had laying around . I then bent a coat hanger and designed the "Y" pipe and kept the single exhaust . I sold my dual carb set up to fund this set up other wise would have used stock intake and carbs - may have needed to be richened up though because of the flowing exhaust . Yes , I used a mig welder to weld the entire set up (intake and exhaust ) I did purchase a TIG welder and set it up then never got good enough to use it for my build . I have lots of pictures of this process as I built it if in need PM me and can email some of them . Good luck . http://forums.aaca.org/f163/41-buick...er-381596.html

exhaust

Pictures of my set up
    Attached Images Attached Images

more pics

I have some done too .
    Attached Images Attached Images

Thanks