rear gear swap

I have a 48 Buick Roadmaster with the Dynaflow transmission if i remember right the current rear gear ratio is a 4.10. i would like to swap to something to get better gas mileage once i get it on the road. what is the lowest road gear that will swap in? and will anything gear wise from the smaller series work are their rearends the same as the bigger series? im not looking for acceleration so far the lowest i found was a 3.60 from a manual trans 48 Roadmaster .i know i could do a 700r4 swap and use a Chevy truck rearend to keep the 5x5 bolt pattern but that is out of my budget right now and trying to keep the reasonably original drivetrain wise. any help would be appreciated

If I remember correctly the gears were the same up to '55. This means you have available to 3.36, maybe lower. I don't think your stock gear is 4.10. I think it's close to 3.90 or 3.60. Take the rear cover off & look at the ring gear. It will have the ring & pinion gear tooth count on it like 13-47 or.

Tom T.

Keep looking, any rear gears between 1940 to 55 should fit. Have a friend that has delt with many Buick differentials bakntheday, and he says that he had found many different gear ratios in all kinds of different series Buicks. Its possible but not usual for a 4:10 ratio in a dynaflow, anyway they are out there, I just got a 3:61 from a 53 special for my 39 Century. Any of the taller ratios will give you better drivability and mileage. Most are being offered from guys who are wanting to get rid of all the leftover parts from a driveline swap or just parting out and they usually want to get those big parts out of the way. a complete rear end with driveshaft would make it a lot easier for you. [if its the same length] There is a 3:43 ratio available, probably in a 55 model.

Last edited:
ill check my 48/49 shop manual again see which ratio it says again. But thanks for the info is there any kind of compiled list of rear gear ratios for 40-55 cars by model and trans?