- Head Flow Chart
- Nailhead Oil Pump
- Nailhead cam specs and cam selection
- Nailhead Parts Interchange
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: AFB Carburator to Intake Gasket "401"

Post AFB Carburator to Intake Gasket "401"

Hello,
    I have 63 401 LeSabre with a Carter AFB 3503S 4 Barrel (car came with a 2 barrel I changed it to 4 some years ago) There is a channel or grove in the intake manifold (in a u shape) that ends have ports that lead deep into the manifold. I am having problems finding a gasket to match the grove. The rebuild kit for the AFB came with one with cut outs for the channel or grove. I need to replace the gasket but can only find ones for Rochester or Elderbrock afb. The Elderbrock gasket fit,but covers the grove. If I use the Elderbrock will it make any difference in how the car runs? If so any idea where I can locate the correct gasket?
    Thanks Scotty

I'm not an expert on this but from what Ive been told by several "old timers", one who rebuilt carbs for most of his life. Those grooves and ports need to be covered. When this gentleman rebuilt my carb he knew by looking at it that this gasket was missing and told me to replace it with a steel one. I couldnt find a steel one so I made it myself. So far everthing is working much better than it used to but I havent put many miles on it since the rebuild. Also mine is a 61 401 with an original rochester 4bbl but I think its the same idea. Hope this can help. TR
    Last edited by 1loinvicta; 06-27-2005 at 09:01 PM.

yeah, the grooves should be covered; some are for hot coolant recirculation. Once when I didn't put on the right steel gasket, the car ran terribly.

BTW: who makes a good metal gasket for this purpose now, something that acts as a good heat insulator?

Thank you, I have heard that there is a metal gasket for the carb to manifold but have never see anything other than aftermarket heat shields.
    Scotty
    Last edited by Scotty; 06-28-2005 at 11:24 AM.

Kevin Beach