- Trouble Shooting Carburetor Problems
- Buick Carburetor Types and Numbers
- Buick Carter "V8" Carburetor Numbers and Specifications
- Rebuilding a Fuel Vacuum Pump
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trouble starting 64 Riv

floridariv64 Guest

Question

Hello, I'm a bit new to the Buick world, but have been smitten by a '64 Riv. It had been stored for a while so the gas was stale and the needles were stuck. After tapping the bowls with a hammer [img]graemlins/smash.gif[/img] , they unstuck. I added as much 93 octane as would fit in the tank, and she ran. She wouldn't idle, but ran, pretty well. I replaced the cap, rotor, wires, and that seemed to help. The muffler and pipes were rusted through so I removed the rear pipes an muffler from just forward of the rear axle on back. Now the car won't really start. It fires, but just seems to "chug" and stall. My question is, does the muffler add needed back pressure to run the engine. I know on these nailheads, it's all about torque. If not, any ideas would be very helpful. I have since replaced the plugs and points but to no avail.
    P.S. I know it is getting fuel to the carb.
    P.S.S I have a muffler on order off Ebay

Pour some of that 93 octane in the carb, and see if it will run! Old gas will cause LOTS of problems!
    Joe T
    37Buick coupe /455 powered
    40 Super convert
    72 GS455 convert 13.0/105
    69 Buick Sportwagon
    92 Road,aster wagon
    04 Rendezvous

floridariv64 Guest