- Nailhead Engine Specifications
- Head Flow Chart
- Nailhead Oil Pump
- Nailhead cam specs and cam selection
- Nailhead Parts Interchange
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lifter Tick

Lifter Tick

Just rebuilt my 66 401 and installed a new cam with new lifters but kept the original pushrods and rocker arm shafts. After the 500 mile break in period, I can now hear one of the lifters ticking in the left bank. This is my first build and I thought I was thorough with all cleaning of parts, and I'm 100% positive I torqued everything to exact specs (most things quadruple checked)

Is there a way to adjust valve lash, and if so, would that fix my problem?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Sean

Did the tick start after the 500 miles, or has it been ticking all along? To get started, presume the tick started @500 miles. I suspect a piece of dirt/debris found its way into the lifter. Pull the valve cover and identify the noisy lifter. With the engine warm and running, lightly tap the pushrod end of the rocker arm on the pushrod end of the rocker with a soft faced hammer. "Rap" the rocker, rather than hit it hard. Do this several times. You may unstick or dislodge the dirt. If this doesn't do it, shut the engine off and run some carb cleaner down the pushrod using a spray can with the little red tube. After it sets a while, run it and see if that fixes it. Repeat the carb cleaner/rapping exercize a couple of times if necessary. If no improvement, change the oil & filter. If no improvement, pull the lifter, disassemble & clean it, check entire valve train for that valve for signs of wear or damage , replace and hope for the best. If this does not fix it, you need to provide more info. Did you install new cam &/or lifters?, did you use break in oil or additive? Did you do a valve job? are the valve springs new,if not were they checked? Did your machinist make sure all the valve stem tips were returned to the proper height? Good luck, hope it's an easy fix.