-
263 Head X-Sections
    - Building a High Performance Straight Eight
- Buick Straight Eight Lifter Adjustment
- Straight Eight Intake Manifold X-Sections
- Straight Eight Oil Supply Update

Thread: Need some straight 8 help

buicksarecool Guest

Hi there. I've got a 52 Special with the 263 in it. I'm pretty new to the Straight 8s, so I've got a couple questions for the veterans out there:

I did a series of tests to determine the condition of the motor. All in all, it runs well. I've never driven another Buick with a straight 8 in it, so I really have nothing to compare it to. I did a vacuum test and it came out satisfactory. No leaks anywhere and the reading was high enough to not sound off any alarms. After that, I did a compression test with the following readings:

No 1 @ 110 lbs
    No 2 @ 110 lbs
    No 3 @ 100 lbs
    No 4 @ 110 lbs
    No 5 @ 110 lbs
    No 6 @ 123 lbs
    No 7 @ 110 lbs
    No 8 @ 110 lbs

Now my gage isn't the highest of quality, so give or take 2 lbs on each of those would be a pretty safe tolerance. Obviously the number 6 cylinder is throwing me. It may have had a sleeve job in the past, or maybe someone just replaced just that piston, but who knows? Now my general rule of thumb doing a compression test is that all the cylinders being within 90% of each other is excellent. 75% being okay but getting bad. I fall in at about 85%. To me that's okay, but I noticed the tune up specs on this site state that they should be at 140 and within 10 lbs of each other. Should I be overly concerned here?