Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: restoring my 1956 Buick century

restoring my 1956 Buick century

hello, i am restoring my first car which is a 1956 Buick century that i bought when i was 15, i am now 21. i was wondering if anyone out there new of anyone that makes or can make a rear pass. quarter. i need it from inside the door to the middle of the quarter. also any other great buick cites for info and parts.

Quote Originally Posted by MyfirstBuick View Post
    hello, i am restoring my first car which is a 1956 Buick century that i bought when i was 15, i am now 21. i was wondering if anyone out there new of anyone that makes or can make a rear pass. quarter. i need it from inside the door to the middle of the quarter. also any other great buick cites for info and parts.

Welcome to the site, I'm also an owner of a 56 Buick century and in my 20's! I have a lot of experience working on these cars. No company makes quarter panels new for these cars unfortunately. A parts car is usually the best bet. Mine was only rusty on a fairly flat section of the quarter so I was able to make it out of plain flat sheet metal. Do you have pictures of your car you can post?

I see you also posted about changing your transmission to a 6 speed corvette. modern corvette transmissions are mounted in the rear of the car so that would not be compatible even with an adapter plate.

IMG_1710.jpgThis is the area I need for the body it's all much and no metal. Can you explain more on how the trans won't workIMG_1710.jpg

Attached Images Attached Images

IMG_1767.jpgThis is what my car looks like now

Why do you want to replace the quarter panels? Im not seeing anything in the pictures all that bad.
    Also, do you plan on keeping the original motor? I know half of the people on this site would disapprove, but I swapped to a 2002 LS1 engine with great results.

And on the transmission, which one specifically are you referring to? A t56 out of a 96 or older? a 6L80?