From the Reference Section:
- Common engine dimensions
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1964 300

1964 300

if i were to take my 64 skylark high compression 300-4, and put the 2 barrel intake and carburator from the low compression 300, would i see a gain in fuel economy, or would i screw up the whole dynamics of the engine? i'm an old man not looking for speed.

Disclaimer: I have no first hand knowledge on your particular question. I am not "intimate" with the Buick 300.

Speaking here in generalities: Your driving habits probably have the greatest effect on your fuel mileage. Secondly a properly tuned engine, a good tight distributor with functional mechanical and vacuum advance AND a sound engine base(rings and valves) have a critical effect on "potential fuel mileage".

The carb question is a good one. I am not convinced the 2 bbl will inherently improve mileage but in my experience, it does give a better "driveability" experience with less throttle input to feel good doing normal in town driving. Now if you are a lead foot, it will naturally deliver less fuel under full throttle and hard driving, which may improve mileage over the 4 bbl.

Like Forest Gump says, "And that's all I have to say about that matter", or something similar.

Hopefully,More knowledgeable Buick folk will step in to help with your question.

The 64 300-4 has aluminum heads & intake,any year 300-2 intake is cast iron,not compatible with the aluminum heads from what I've heard.
    JAMIE MCCLINTON
    STARTER/ALTERNATOR/GENERATOR REBUILDER SINCE 1979
    selling buick mini starters & alternators
    startncharge@rocketmail.com
    65 Special convertible
    69 Special Deluxe
    Lost to garage fire:
    69 cali GS
    72 Suncoupe

Quote Originally Posted by 65specialconvert View Post
    The 64 300-4 has aluminum heads & intake,any year 300-2 intake is cast iron,not compatible with the aluminum heads from what I've heard.