Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Coil spring specs.

Coil spring specs.

Hello All:
    This is my first time posting here so bare with me. I'm looking to replace the rear coil springs on my 1967 GS-340. I've owned the car from new, did a lengthily restoration (26 yrs. ) re-registered in 2005 and have been driving it since. Over the years during restoration, springs got mixed, switched and unidentified from my originals to ones from parts cars. Needless to say I used the best ones I could find among the ones I had. The car rides good handles good but sags when the trunk gets loaded with suitcases, chairs, tools, BEER, etc. going to shows. I want to upgrade the springs in the rear but I'm undecided what to use. The '67 parts book I have lists the standard spring as #9778686. An option for the 43417 (GS-340) was a "Sport Pkg." or "Ralley Road Package" code H4 which consisted of special heavy duty springs, and rear stabilizer bar. That option did not come on mine so I assume originally had just the standard #9778686 springs. I've tried to locate a part number for the springs used in the "sport Pac" but all I can come up with off an old options sheet is code NZ.
    Does anyone out there have any kind of specifications on either of these springs, like wire diameter, design load, load rate, free height, etc. If I had a starting point, maybe I could make an educated guess on what to switch to. I'd hate to buy new springs only to find there not much better than what I have now or find that they are too stiff. I did read somewhere that the variable rate springs affect handling and in not a good way.
    Any information would be greatly appreciated. Sorry I was so long winded.
    Tom

here's the 67 Chassis Manual
    http://www.teambuick.com/reference/l...ssis/index.php

i don't know your original spring specs but if LOADED ride height is your primary concern you may want to consider installing air bags in the rear.