From the Reference Section:
- How to choose your new wheels and tires
- Buick Rallye Wheels
- Calculators: Tires, Gears, MPH, etc.
- Wheel Bearing Adjustment, 1963 - 1970
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 61 special suspension

61 special suspension

Hey all, new to this site, my name is Pat and i just picked up 61 special! Now hopefully this is the correct place for my thread. What I was wondering was if anybody has attempted to put and air bag suspension on one of these specials! The reason I ask is that the previous owner has "lowered it" correctly in the rear, but the front springs have obviously been heated seeing there is now space between the coilsNow I do like the way it sits very much! I'd like to be able to put it at a decent ride height for driving and slam it in the weeds at local shows and what not. I'm a technician by trade with decent fabrication skills but I've never messed around with air bags. Just looking to see if somebody has done the hard work already (figuring out what type of air bags are needed for the front of the car). The rear air bags look to be rather simple to tackle so I'm not to concerned with that. Any help would be greatly appreciated

thanks everybody!
    Pat

I have Firestone bags in the rear of my 63 Lesabre along with the air command. Works good, its not all that complicated for the rear. I have been wanting to do it in the front too but am working on other stuff like and engine/trans swap and disk brake swap at the moment. The air bags simply replace the coils and just need a bucket or bracket to sit in. You want good shocks to go along with firestone bags. There are bolt in kits from sources like Ridetech but they are spendy. The main thing that you need to work out with fabrication is making sure you have poly bump stops that will hold your suspension from completely bottoming out and that you space the airbags properly for travel while driving.