- Buick 300/340 Casting Numbers
- 215 sports car and Indy racing
    - Affordable Aluminum V-8's
- Buick 215 Engine Specifications
- Buick 300, 340 Engine Specifications
- How To Hot Rod Any Engine – Engine Tech

Thread: Non-Turbo V6 Mods?

Question Non-Turbo V6 Mods?

Hi... I am a newbie to this board, and own an 84 Regal with a 4.1L 4 barrel carb. I have a bunch of parts that used to be a Buick 455 (idiot was paid to assemble it and never finished the job) and am contemplating the pros and cons of finishing the V8 versus modifying the V6 to be a nice street car.

The word around the campfire so far is slap a turbo on the 4.1... I agree this would be an interesting proposition, however I am curious what a 4.1 could do without a turbo, and whether parts can be had for good power without a turbo. I like the idea of a turbo, but it would be really nice to embarrass Junior's daddy's Mustang GT with a Buick V6 and then be able to say it was all motor.

Not that I'm above running boost or nitrous... but I seem to remember a few NA Buick V6s being built-up that could give some V8s a run for their money... They've been a popular swap for Toyota pickups and the like for some time..... Anyone familiar with natural aspirated V6 power?
    Last edited by Anomaly; 12-22-2010 at 11:36 PM.
    James Collier

Check out my music at www.myspace.com/allergic2air

Also on FaceBook...

Quote Originally Posted by Anomaly View Post
    Hi... I am a newbie to this board, and own an 84 Regal with a 4.1L 4 barrel carb. I have a bunch of parts that used to be a Buick 455 (idiot was paid to assemble it and never finished the job) and am contemplating the pros and cons of finishing the V8 versus modifying the V6 to be a nice street car.