From the Reference Section:
- Musclecar Enthusiast March 06 - the Jim Burek 350 porting article
- Ancient mid 12's secrets for your Buick *350*
- Poston Camshafts, Buick 350
    - 350 casting Numbers
- Buick 350 Drag Strip Tests from Kenne-Bell
- 350 Engine Specifications
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 73 buick Regal restoration project.

73 buick Regal restoration project.

Whats up everybody; this is my first restoration project that I am doing. I just purchased my regal today. the chevy 350 has a 3 speed attatched to it and its having carb issues. I was able to get it running with alot of coaxing(starter fluid and gas) and it ran and drove about 30 minutes total today for a total of about 20 miles. Then it started sputtering and stalled as I was driving. This website has the specs of my car.

http://classiccardatabase.com/specs....4&view=details

After it died The engine would not turn over again; the starter wouldn't even attempt to engage.

I am not a mechanic but can do basic things. I need to know what I should do about my carb issue? Should I just replace?

Also with the battery issue, I am going to get it tested as well as the alt(if needed) any suggestions why it wouldn't turn over all the sudden?

I've got a Chevy pickup that has to be coaxed to start like that because it needs a fuel pump and I just haven't put one on yet. Check the battery cables and fusible links for the no start problem. Get it running before condemning the carburetor. If it still needs work, I'd get it rebuilt by someone who knows what they are doing. Slapping on a generic replacement usually involves screwing around with linkages and choke styles and other stuff. Sticking with the original is best.

My first guess is the alternator is gone - you drove the 20 miles on the battery.

jump it with another (good) battery - it should start - remove the good battery, it will die = alternator is gone

Quote Originally Posted by BigRivy View Post