- 1966 Wiring Diagrams
- 1967 Wiring Diagrams
- 1968 Wiring Diagrams
- 1972 Wiring Diagrams
- 1975 Wiring Diagrams
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 67 GS 400 has NO electric

67 GS 400 has NO electric

Battery is good, new solanoid, voltage regulator, good battery ground and the car has no fusible links (thanks prior owner). My ALT was bad so I put a new one on but that didn't help. No lights, no horn, no radio, ignition does nothing and no indicator lights. The electrical system is dead except for the battery and started solanoid.
    I added a power amp and subwoofer and after I ran it for about 2 hours, and my last stop of the day my car would not start. Not even a click on the starter. I'm not good with electric and someone told me to jump a wire from the battery to the red wire at the voltage regulator. I think that was a bad idea but the headlights came on and I had voltage and the car turned over for a second and then I stopped because I didn't want it to start.

After that I made the battery connection to the red voltage reg more permanent and now now nothing works.

Unraveled the engine wiring harness and can't locate the issue. I feel like I burned out a ground but I don't know what else to do. I ordered a new wiring harness just because of the condition of the old one but I have a feeling that won't solve the problem.

Not great at voltmeters as the only thing I can use it for is battery voltage which is good.

When I jumped the power could I have caused myself more damage? HELP!

electrical work is conceptually very simple. you must ALWAYS have a good conductive path from the positive side of your power supply to the mechanism doing work ( lights, starter, ignition, etc ) and then back to the negative terminal.

the issue with automotive wiring is the shear number of wires involved and the difficulty in getting to them.