Thread: 48 Roadmaster HELP

48 Roadmaster HELP

Hey all. I'm new to Team Buick and working on older cars (anything older than 72'). As my father used to say "If you were a mechanic you would starve!", so you could say I can do anything if given direction but trouble shooting is not my strong suite.
    I just inherited a 48 Roadmaster 71 (320-straight 8) and am slowly (very slowly) working my way through the engine and electrical in order to get it up and running, it hasnt run in at least 3 years but was run every month prior to that. It was garaged for the last 10 years so its in pretty good condition.
    While I was waiting 3 weeks for a new 12/6 2E style battery and a PwerGen alternator I changed the oil/filter element, flushed the tank (3 times) and fuel lines, cleaned (but not rebuilt) the carburetor, flushed the raidiator (not the entire cooling system).
    I tried to crank the car and got absolutly nothing! I know Im getting power through the solenoid (crossing the starting solenoid causes it to run but not crank so its probably froze), to all of the internal accessories/lights, and to the generator. What am I missing?
    Someone told me to make sure and check the carb starter switch (will do tomorrow) but I would think that the starter would at least engage if it was getting power.
    Any help would be appriciated!
    Thanks in advance.

48 Roadmaster help

Did you check the starter switch on the carb?