Thread: HELP! HELP! Engine swap issues....

Question HELP! HELP! Engine swap issues....

About three years ago, I bought a 1973 Electra from my cousin. It has a 455, and long-neck turbo 400 transmission, both of which ran fine(I drove it from his house to mine, about 10 miles). However, when I took it out and dropped it into my car, an 82 LeSabre, the transmission stopped switching gears as it should. I changed the fluid, the gear in the neck(I forgot the name of it), made sure the vacuum lines were open and secure....it still wouldn't change gears correctly. I cranked it about a year ago to run it for a while; I tried to drive it just out of curiosity, and now it wont even budge. What do you guys think could be causing this? I've been told by several mechanics that I need to disable the onboard computer in my Lesabre, since the Electra didn't have one; that it's interfering with the transmission. I don't know about that though; I could be wrong since im no mechanic, but I'm looking at the motor/transmission from the electra as one mechanical unit, which is not connected to any electronics other than the battery to starter. I was thinking that maybe the transmission coincidentally gave out during the swap, and just needs a rebuild. Any ideas at all?

I REALLY want to get this car driving; I didnt start driving until 2000, after the "big body" days; I drove the both of them for a while, the LeSabre and Electra...I have NEVER felt more secure and "safe" in a car, and yet they feel like they're sliding on ice.....they just dont make 'em like that anymore....