- 1964 Wiring Diagrams
- 1966 Wiring Diagrams
- 1967 Wiring Diagrams
- 1968 Wiring Diagrams
- 1972 Wiring Diagrams
- 1975 Wiring Diagrams

Thread: '69 Buick help!

'69 Buick help!

Im new to all this restoration but i just got a 69 gs and it is running but one of my brake lights and reverse lights arent working. is there any place i can look that is common so i dont have to try and find the wire all the way to the fuse box? I also already tried new bulbs. any help will be greatly appreciated.

thanks,
    Clayton

The back up lights should get the signal from nutral safty and back up light switch mounted on your steering column. But because you are having a brake light problem too, it would seem more like a wiring problem, probably in connecting plug inside the trunk... maybe...

WEBNOTE: When inserting an email in a posting, use the "smilie" @ so that web robots don't pick up your address and send you more junk mail!
    Members can be contacted by clicking on their "handle", but you are much better off to post to the thread!

yeah i think it is a wiring problem because the brake lights will work with out the headlights on but when the headlights are on, one brake light on the right will cut off. i redid that plug and that didnt do anything so im sure the problem is somewhere inbetween that plug and the actual bulb connection. but on the reverse lights the right one and middle one work could that still be a problem with the back up light switch?

OK, let's get clear on the proper nomenclature so this is less confusing...

Headlights on means TAIL lights are on in the back, yes?

Brake lights come on when you step on the brakes...or use the emergency flashers. Same filaments are hot for brake and emergency lights, in the back.

So, if the taillights are on, but you step on the brake, one of them goes out? Is that what you mean? Or if the brake lights are on, and you turn on the headlights, a brake light goes out?