263 Head X-Sections
    - Building a High Performance Straight Eight
- Buick Straight Eight Lifter Adjustment
- Straight Eight Intake Manifold X-Sections
- Straight Eight Oil Supply Update
Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Cross-flow/OHC head for str8

Exclamation Cross-flow/OHC head for str8

I have been a fan of the straight-8 since my first car, a 1950 Buick with a 248/Dynaflow. I am a mechanical engineer, and I have been thinking about an advanced cylinder head for these engines for a long time. Basically, there are two ways to go about it - build a wax model and mold and cast the head, or machine it from a billet using a CNC machine. Either way, it would have to be done in two pieces, an upper half and lower half to allow you to properly design the coolant flow passages.

The way I would do it would be to start with a Honda 4 valve-per-cylinder SOHC head. I would cut this head apart horizontally to get to the insides and make a wax copy of it. I would then make an 8-cylinder version of the wax head with the proper bore spacings and head bolt pattern. I would also make a cam design using the original cam and the bearing arrangement of the new head, keeping the firing order the same as the original Buick cam. Then I would put the wax head into a sand mold and have it cast in aluminum - then start the machining.

I think a cool design would place 8 intake and 8 exhaust ports on each side of the head. The engine would use two intake manifolds, one primary and one secondary, and two headers (or 4) that would make it look like a very narrow V16. I would have to leave the cam in the block to drive the oil pump and distributor. I think I would use two four-barrels, one on each side, or maybe port EFI. Each side could have a turbo or a small (3-71 or 4-71) blower also.

The problem? Cost! This would cost, what $15K-$20K, plus the straight-8, which of course should be a 320 with custom rods, pistons, and bottom-end girdle.