- 1964-1967 SP400 Parts Images
- How to wire the Switch Pitch on a Buick Transmission
    - 400 auto codes
- BOP Bellhousings and Automatic Identification
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Alleycat?...1961 Skylark Dynaflow...can't get past 50 mph!!

Alleycat?...1961 Skylark Dynaflow...can't get past 50 mph!!

I'm new to the Dynaflow and after searching through 14 pages of Dynaflow issues I've yet to figure out whats going on. I know it's a Dynaflow because it is on the bellhousing.
    The car will pull out fine in low or drive but it will then only continue to rev as I gain speed. If I lightly release the throttle it's like it's in nuetral. If I take my foot completely off the throttle it feels as if it changes into a higher gear. If I use very little throttle it will continue to move but it's not enough to gain speed. If I push the throttle harder to accelerate it will again rev very high. I can't get past 50 as it sounds as if the engine is about to pop!
    Is there an adjustment that can be made? Is the pump or turbine bad?
    I know I'm new to the board but any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

BloodyKnuckles

Question Dynaflow Problems.

Have You checked or changed the fluid?

Dropped the pan?

Cleaned the Filter?

Consulted the manual?

Usually Dynaflow problems are when you start -up from a stop.

Regards,

Tom Gallagher
    Thanking YOU, for YOUR Valued Cooperation and Experience in This Matter.

NOSTALGIA Is A DEVICE That REMOVES The RUTS and POTHOLES From MEMORY LANE.
    Tom Gallagher (BUICK BANSHEE)
    1956 Buick Special 2 Door H/Top 46R: Red & White
    Darlington Station, RI. 02861

Quote Originally Posted by Tom Gallagher View Post
    Have You checked or changed the fluid?

Dropped the pan?

Cleaned the Filter?

Consulted the manual?

Usually Dynaflow problems are when you start -up from a stop.

Regards,

Tom Gallagher
    Tom,