Thread: 2003 Century thermostat

trafman71 Guest

2003 Century thermostat

A couple days ago, the temperature gauge on my 2003 Buick Century 3.1 started moving erratically where it would go nearly to the red, then suddenly go back down. Today, I've noticed that along with the gauge's erratic movement that the heater is not getting warm. I was thinking it may be the thermostat, however, what is sad is that I cannot locate the thermostat on this car. I'm not too experienced with these things, but I always thought the thermostat was where the radiator hose bolted onto the engine, but I cannot find a thermostat anywhere in that vicinity. Can someone advise where I may locate the thermostat so that I may check to see if this is indeed the issue? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Sounds like a classic case of low coolant level

I agree with Dan, Sounds like coolant level is low. check coolant level and check for leaks.

chrisj

If the fluid is low, you have to bleed air from the system. Most 3.1s have two bleeders, one on each side of the engine. One is near the coolant pump, the other near the upper hose outlet. Hope this helps.
    chrisj

yes, check the coolant level, if you add you need to open the bleeders BEFORE you start to fill it.....make sure the motor is cold when you do this. also look real hard at both sides of the intake (front and rear) for leaks, it's common.

2003 thermostat

I agree with the other guys-sounds like low coolant level.One thing I`d like to add, why is the level low?.Modern motors dont normally leak fluids like they used to.I think it would pay big dividends to check out the root of the problem rather than just treat the symptoms.Remember, "Do it nice or do it twice!". regards , rustyroger.

trafman71 Guest

I believe we have it