Thread: 1962 nailhead tranny

wopcycle Guest

1962 nailhead tranny

Can some one please help me, I am new to the nailhead society, I have a`1962 Buick Invicta convt. It has a 401 nailhead and a dyna flow. I would like to change the tranny out to a 1964 or 1965 3 speed buick tranny. is this a direct bolt in. If so is it worth the swap. Or should I just bite the bullet and do the adapter chevy change over. any help would be great. Thanks Vinnie.

chrisj

Depends on where your starter is mounted. If the starter is mounted on the engine, you should be able to find a Turbo 400 that bolts in. If the starter is mounted to the transmission bell housing, you need an adapter. There is an adapter for Pontiacs that might work with the Buick, but I'm not sure. Hope this helps,

Chris
    chrisj

62 nailhead tranny

The nailhead is an externally balanced motor. The flywheel has to be changed which will affect the motor balance. Also, the crankshaft hole in the dynaflow flywheel could be larger to accept a larger crankshaft end on the older nailhead crankshafts. This could lead to major headaches. I discovered this when I installed a 63 T10 4 speed setup behind my 64 425 Riviera.

davidb59

wopcycle Guest
    Thank you for the info, it was a grat deal of help

62 Buick Trans

Hi, Bendsten Adapters can fix you up with all you need.
    Butch Pruitt
    Pruitt's Transmission
    864-226-3394