P0008 code on 2010 Lacrosse CXS (3.6L)

LeonJames

I have a 2010 Lacrosse CXS with the 3.6L v6 with ~132,000 miles. Over the summer my car has been periodically showing a check engine light, and then it goes away after a few starts, and then returns a few starts later, and then goes away agin. The code that my odb2 reader is showing is P0008: Engine Positions System Performance Bank 1. My research shows that this is usually related to a Timing Chain issue and is a pretty hefty repair bill (~$1,500).
I plan on getting this looked at at some point, however I am a recent college graduate that doesn't start work until mid September so money is tight. Can I safely drive for a few months until then?
Also, I've seen on some other forums that there is a possible ECU upgrade for this engine that allows more tolerance for the timing chain to stretch before throwing the check engine light. Does anyone know anything about this?

I don't think anyone is going to tell you, you can safely drive the car after the light has come on. That would be to take on some liability if failure should occur. It could fail as early as the next start up, or it could last another 50,000 miles. It's your gamble.

I have no idea about the ECU upgrade to allow greater tolerances, but if it is not an OE upgrade, you could be taking your chances there too. Perhaps you could research the scope of the job, and decide if you would like to tackle it yourself or with the help of a friend.

3.6 timing chain on ebay

Last edited:
I have a 2010 Lacrosse CXS with the 3.6L v6 with ~132,000 miles. Over the summer my car has been periodically showing a check engine light, and then it goes away after a few starts, and then returns a few starts later, and then goes away agin. The code that my odb2 reader is showing is P0008: Engine Positions System Performance Bank 1. My research shows that this is usually related to a Timing Chain issue and is a pretty hefty repair bill (~$1,500).tweakbox appvalley https://vlc.onl/